Din tai feng vs crystal jade

Posted on

Yesterday, I went to Orchard with my sister and nephew to buy a long sleeve shirt for the SC Graduation Night this coming Tuesday. I saw some nice shirts from Alain Delon but alas, the straight-cut cutting is not suitable for me. The fitting is okay just that because of the cutting, it sort of enhances my contours and curves around the waist area.

It seems, I have to choose from the Goldlion range again as it is the only brand that conforms to my shape (hey, round IS a shape too!). Half of my wardrobe is Goldlion! After some choosing, I finally set my sights on a striped shirt and paid for it.




Giant Tweety




Piglet balloon

After shopping for a while, we went for lunch at Din Tai Feng. It was my first visit and I’ve never tasted their food before. However, I’ve heard so much raves from my friends about how nice and wonderful their food are (especially the die die must try Xiao Long Baos) so I thought why not just give it a try?

Hence, we ordered a Shanghai Drunken Chicken, Wanton Mee, Xiao Long Bao and a Sour & Spicy Soup. The Shanghai Drunken Chicken is interesting, maybe because it’s my first time having it however, the rest of the dishes that followed were a disappointment.


The Wanton Mee is kind of bland and there’s too much pork in the Wanton for my liking. I don’t really like to eat pork and I got so sick of the Wanton that I pick out the meat and eat the prawn inside only. I don’t understand why but I just don’t like pork. I don’t like Rou Paus and I hate Siew Mais. However, I do eat Cantonese-styled Char Siew thats half fatty, half lean and a little bit chao ta one. On the other hand, ordinary Char Siew that’s too lean and overly dry is a no, no.

Needless to say, I felt nauseous just by looking at the Xiao Long Baos but, I still forced myself to try one since it’s so helluva famous. I find the marination too heavy for my liking already.

As for the Sour & Spicy Soup, I can’t distinct neither the Sour nor the Spicy taste. Lor Mee soup tastes so much better!


After finishing, all I can say is, I don’t understand what’s so fascinating about Din Tai Feng?  Give me Crystal Jade anytime!

 

The Wanton Mee from Crystal Jade is what I really define as the ‘authentic’ Wanton Mee!




Shanghai Drunken Chicken





Wanton Mee





Xiao Long Bao





Juicy Xiao Long Bao





Sour & Spicy Soup


Leave a comment