These Abled People…

Posted on

After the meeting ended yesterday, we were waiting for the train home when we saw the partially visually-impaired man who busks outside the Bishan MRT Station also waiting for the same train. Soon, the train was approaching but the screen was showing the DO NOT BOARD sign. The man was moving forward with his trolley of keyboard and speakers preparing to board as the train pulls into the station.

We ran towards him and I got to him first. I held his shoulder and told him not to board and that the next train would be coming in three more minutes. He thanked and chatted with us. He asked us where we are from and that we looked smart and neat in our uniforms with the tie and all. When he knew we were from the ITE, he encouraged us not to feel inferior or disgraced as it’s a common misconception from the general public that students who ended up in the ITE are usually hopeless and with no future.

He went on to say that people discriminated him because of his disability and though he had a degree, he had no job. Thus, he had no choice but to bask to earn a living. There are some people who looked down on baskers like him but he is earning his own keep with his own talent and skills. He didn’t rob or steal from anyone so who are those people to dispise on him? I felt motivated by what he has said and I’m kind of reminded that there is always someone in a worser predicament than me so who am I to complain about this and that?

This brings to mind about what happend in school on Monday. The SC was getting ready for their morning briefing when I heard a familiar voice calling out my name. It was Navim, the Indian guy who moved around with a wheeler. He said that his classroom was on the third floor but the lift was out of order. He had problems going up the stairs on his own and that he needed help. I told him to wait for me at the foyer after the morning assembly and I assured him that I would help him to get to his classroom come what may.

After the assembly has ended, I noticed that he was sitting all alone at the foyer. I was wondering where has all his classmates gone to and why isn’t there anyone to help him? Shouldn’t there be a class buddy assigned to help him and what he said astonished me! To quote him in his own words, he said that “they didn’t want to help me”. His form teacher, Mr Ganesan has spoken to his class about it but nobody wanted to help Navim and there is nothing that Mr Ganesan can do about it. How could anyone NOT lend a helping hand to someone who needs their help? And this poor boy is their very own classmate! I’m so disgusted by the moral ethics of people nowadays.

As I mentioned earlier, Navim‘s classroom was on the third floor but he could only use the toilet at the canteen which is on the ground floor. Imagined the long distance he had to travel and the time taken for him to get to where he wanted to go? My heart goes out to him! I gave him my number and told him to call or send me a message should he need my help anytime and I will go to help him.

So, the next time anyone of you see Navim moving along the corridoor all by himself, please say hi to him and be his friend. Or, if you see him in need of help, please offer him your assistance, can?

What I would like to say is that it is always a blessing to be able to help others. I don’t ask for anything in return but being able to see their heartfelt gratitude and sincere smile is all it takes to brighten up my day because I knew I had done something good that my mother would approve and be so proud of.

Leave a comment